Adding, Editing or Deactivating User Groups

 

User Groups act as departments in the Tresta cloud phone system. You can add as many user groups as you like, and place as many users in the groups as needed.  

As we’ve mentioned before, your Tresta system comes with three user groups built in: All Users, System Administrators and Billing Administrators. You can read more about those groups here. If you need to separate your users further, by different departments as an example, then you can add custom user groups. 

Adding, editing and deleting user groups in your Tresta phone system is incredibly easy, and this article explains every step in the processes.

In this article, you will learn:

  • Who can create, edit and delete user groups;
  • How to add a user group;
  • How to edit a user group;
  • How to deactivate (delete) a user group;
  • How to reactivate an inactive user group.

This article assumes you are a Tresta System Administrator and have not added any additional user groups to your account.

Who can create, edit and delete user groups?

Both system admins and users in the System Administrators user group have the ability to add, edit or delete user groups. Here’s how those permissions work: 

  • System Administrators automatically have access to any configuration in their business phone system, and are added automatically to the built-in user groups.
  • Individual Users must be manually added to the System Administrators group by a system admin. Only after that step can an individual user make changes on a Tresta account.

Adding a User Group

User Groups are managed in the Tresta web app. Once logged in, do the following: 

  1. Click on the Settings tab at the top of the page.
  2. Click on the User Groups tab within the System Components. The User Groups page display any user groups that are currently on your phone system. You can filter your groups by clicking on the tabs at the top of the page. These filter by the following: Active; Inactive; All.  
  3. Click on the +Add User Group button in the top right corner of the User Groups page. This opens the New User Group page. There are two tabs at the top of the page: User Group Profile and Voicemail.
  4. Fill out the information on the User Group Profile tab on the New User Group page. Here you will name the group, select an extension and add users.
  5. Click on the Voicemail tab on the New User Group page. There are two tabs on this page: Options and Greetings.
  6. Preview the current greeting and add subscribers to voicemail messages (and call recordings if turned on) on the Options tab. If you do not like the current greeting, proceed to the next step.
  7. Click on the Greetings tab. Here you can preview your current greeting or change it. Simply click the +Add Another link to either record a new greeting or upload one to the system. Once you’re satisfied with your new greeting, click the red Add button at the bottom of the greeting box. NOTE: If you want your new greeting to be the default for that group, make sure you click the box next to the message, “Make this the current greeting for this user group.”
  8. Once you’ve finished these steps, click the red Save button in the upper right corner of the New User Group page. Your new user group should now appear on the User Groups page. 

Editing a User Group

When a system administrator is on the User Groups page, they can edit any group by doing the following:

  1. Select the user group that you need to edit and click the Edit icon in the right corner of its box. This opens the Edit User Group page.
  2. Edit any of the items that need to be changed. On the Edit User Group page, you can add new users, edit the name of the group, change the extension, as well as update the voicemail greeting and the subscribers to the voicemail messages.
  3. Once you’ve made your changes, click the Save button in the upper right corner of the Edit User Group page. Your changes are automatically updated in the system. 

Deactivating a User Group

When a system administrator is on the User Group page, they can remove any group by doing the following: 

  1. Locate which user group you no longer need, and click the Deactivate icon (circle with minus sign inside) in the right corner of its box. This opens the Deactivate User Group window to help you ensure you really want that group deactivated.
  2. Click the red Deactivate User Group button at the bottom of the window. This automatically removes the user group from your Active tab on the User Groups page and places it under the Inactive tab.

Reactivating a User Group

When a system administrator is on the User Group page, they can reactivate any inactive group by doing the following:

  1. Click on the Inactive filter at the top of the User Groups page. Doing so will display only the user groups that have been deactivated in your system.
  2. Click the Reactivate icon (circle with plus sign inside). This brings up the Reactivate User Group window where you can make edits to the group as needed.
  3. When you’re ready, click the Reactivate Group button at the bottom of the window. The group should now be under the Active filter and working in your phone system.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request